Then We Begin

Alfa 9

  1. Prelude
  2. Then We Begin
  3. Interlude 1
  4. Flasher
  5. Interlude 2
  6. For Your Bones
  7. Give Me Your Heart Again
  8. Catch Me If You Can
  9. Interlude 3
  10. Deadman
  11. Birds & Flies
  12. Reprise
Cat. No: BU034
UK Release Date: 07 August 2006
Formats: CD / Ltd. LP / Digital
Status: Out Now

Where To Buy

"A confident, elaborate trip through forty years of psychedelic rock. A definitive debut and stunningly complete piece of music. A fully realised and hugely ambitious debut which succeeds on every level" Clash Magazine

"If the Stones Roses had lived in Haight-Asbury... Its psychedelic vision sweeps from late-60s San Francisco to mid-90s Manchester" Classic Rock

About This Release

The debut album from Newcastle-under-Lyme (nr Stoke) based five piece Alfa 9. The group honed their skills on the live circuit, cemented by supports slots with The Coral, Sunshine Underground, The Charlatans, and Edgar Jones, before siging to Blow Up in August 2005, and the same month walked straight into The Charlatans' Big Mushroom studio in Cheshire with Liverpool producer Mike Cave (The Coral, Ian McNabb). They recorded the album in under two weeks, with additional production and mixing in the Autumn in Liverpool. The completed album was mastered in Devon by Simon Heyworth (co-producer of Tubular Bells), the end result being the psych masterpiece that is Then We Begin.