Yéyé Existentialiste

Stereo Total

Yéyé Existentialiste by Stereo Total sleeve
Release images (click to enlarge):
Release notes: 180g Double Vinyl with Gatefold Sleeve, Printed liner notes by Stereo Total + DL Code // CD with fold out booklet with printed liner notes & Lyrics // Early orders of LP & CD from Blow Up shop include limited signed postcard.
  1. I Love You ONO
  2. Musique Automatique
  3. Heroes
  4. Pixelize Me
  5. Everybody In The Discotheque (I Hate) - Blow Up Mix
  6. Alaska
  7. Do The Bambi
  8. Comme Un Garçon
  9. Relax Baby Be Cool
  10. Wir Tanzen Im 4-eck
  11. Cafétéria Idéale
  12. Schön Von Hinten
  13. L'Amour À Trois
  14. C'est La Mort
  15. Push It
  16. LA, CA, USA
  17. Holiday Innn
  18. Ich Bin Nackt
  19. Partir Ou Mourir
  20. Cosmonaute
  21. Ich Bin Der Stricherjunge
  22. Miau Miau
  23. Für Immer 16
  24. Dactylo Rock
  25. Die Frau In Der Musik
  26. Comicstripteasegirl
  27. Heaven's In The Back Seat Of My Cadillac
  28. Les Minets
Cat. No: BU099
UK Release Date: 08 June 2015
Formats: CD / DLP / Digital
Status: Out Now

Where To Buy

"New wave art-pop pioneers - the Sonic Youth of the electropunk world" Time Out

"Scuzzy, mischievous, exhilarating avant-garde pop, spliced with punk and garage and impeccably dressed in thrift-store chic"
The Guardian

"Joyously irreverent" Spin

"Infectious pop melodies" Pitchfork

"The UN of avant-garde pop" The Guardian

"Pure pop thrills" The Guardian

"Stereo Total can't resist the charm of the primitive" The New York Times

About This Release

Blow Up presents Yéyé Existentialiste - a compilation of the recording highlights of one of the world’s greatest exponents of lo-fi pop - Stereo Total


Format Details:
Double 180g Heavy Weight LP in Gatefold Sleeve with printed liner/lyric inner sleeve + Download Code - Pre-Order

CD with fold-out liner/lyric booklet - Pre-Order


Stereo Total is the Berlin based French-German duo Françoise Cactus and Brezel Göring, whose playful eclectic music incorporates anything from New Wave, Pop Electronique, 60’s French pop mashed up with trashy garage Punk Rock and Disco to form the band’s distinctive sound:“We’ve got a special sense of aesthetic. Cheap and cheesy, but still cool and chic.” 

‘Yéyé Existentialiste‘ has been compiled by Paul Tunkin in conjunction with Cactus and Brezel for Blow Up Records. Stereo Total were always a favourite act to book for Tunkin who has promoted shows with the band in London since the 90s at various locations for his Blow Up club night. He approached the band about a new compilation album and now here we are... The double album (released on heavyweight double LP, CD and digital) features 28 recordings that span their twenty year career: including tracks from their first album ‘Oh Ah’ (1995) to their last studio album ‘Cactus vs Brezel’ (2012). It also includes several new mixes including a radically reworked – 'Everybody In The Discotheque (I Hate) -  (Blow Up mix)'. Both CD and Vinyl contain new liner notes about the tracks contained and lyrics. All the recordings have been re-mastered by Noel Summerville at 33/45 Mastering London.