My Sweet Movida

Alfa 9

Cat. No: BU115
UK release date: 06/02/2020
Status: Out Now
  1. Smile Dog
  2. Movida
  3. Different Corner
  4. Rise
  5. When The Lights Go Out
  6. Cinema Of Thunder
  7. Darkest Sea
  8. When I Think Of You
  9. Coincidence Flies
  10. Do It Again
  11. Fly


Ltd. 1808 Clear Vinyl & Ltd. Deluxe Double CD


Alfa 9 return with their third album ‘My Sweet Movida‘. The Newcastle-under-Lyme based four piece are back with their Morricone-esque tinged cosmic country psych rock, that’s layered with vocal harmonies delivering what the band believe to be their strongest set of songs to date.

This their first release since ‘Gone To Ground’, which made Vive le Rock and Sound of Confusion best of the year lists in 2013 and saw the band featured in various magazines including Classic Rock and Shindig. They were interviewed by Steve Lamacq for his ‘New Favourite Band’ feature at BBC 6 Music around the album release and El Morocco (taken from Gone To Ground) later hit the BBC 6 Music playlist for a month as the band performed live at the Liverpool Psych Fest. 

Of the band’s debut ‘Then We Begin’ Clash described this as “A fully realised and hugely ambitious debut which succeeds on every level” whilst Shindig said “one of the best albums of the last decade”. The title track ‘Then We Begin’ and ‘Flasher’ from the album more recently surfaced in key sequences of the auto-behemoth that is The Grand Tour.

A first taste from My Sweet Movida’Smile Dog’is already receiving radio support from Gideon Coe and Guy Garvey at BBC 6 Music.



Keep up to date with latest Blow Up news