Bongos For Beatniks

The Bongolian

Cat. No: BU060
UK release date: 05/09/2011
Status: Out Now
  1. The Riviera Affair
  2. Moscow Queen
  3. Strange Lovers
  4. V.C.O.
  5. Hamlet’s Playground
  6. Give It To Me (On The Left Side)
  7. Jackies Half Nelson
  8. Lauren’s The Clock Maker
  9. The Ballad Of Lily Kensington
  10. Pretty Bertie
  11. Doktor Of Eastern Promise
  12. Bongolian Dream *CD only
  13. Tortoise Walk


1st 1000 pressing of LP with limited poster.


‘Bongos For Beatniks’ sees the welcome return of The Bongolian, AKA multi-instrumentalist and Big Boss Man front man Nasser Bouzida. His fourth album under The Bongolian moniker continues the musical journey where 2007’s Outer Bongolia left off, bringing us back down to Earth possibly via France circa 1967 via 2011, in a wildly eclectic rare groove fusion of Funk Soul Hammond Beat Jazz and a Sci-Fi Boogaloo. Dig it.

The first single to be taken to radio from the album ‘The Riviera Affair‘ (Feburary 2011) was featured on BBC 6 Music Nemone’s Lunchtime Loves where Nemone interviewed Nasser before the sell-out Blow Up HMV Next Big Thing concert that evening. Receiving other radio support from Gideon Coe and Craig Charles also at BBC 6 Music, and proving a strong favourite with club DJ’s around the UK.  The track was also featured as a Sky Sports Soccer AM track of the week.  The second single ‘Give It To Me (On The Left Side)‘ the furiously paced bongo-crazed Hammond happening also received good radio play ahead of the album release, both singles along with many album tracks are proving strong favourites on the Blow Up club dance floor.

Over a decade ago Nasser Bouzida disappeared into his studio and created a solo set of recordings which resulted in the birth of his alter ego The Bongolian. Drawing on his influences of Funk, Soul and Jazz, Nasser produced an inspired selection of recordings underpinned by grinding percussion and heavy Bongo rhythms.  The eponymous debut ‘The Bongolian‘ was released early in 2002 to much critical acclaim, and was followed by the albums ‘Blueprint‘ (2005)  and by ‘Outer Bongolia‘ (2007) which also scored a licensing deal with KSR Records in Japan. The albums have become record box essentials for DJs, finding a wide appeal from Dance, Hip-Hop, rare groove and funk 45s fans.  Nasser has assembled a high calibre five piece live band to take The Bongolian on the road, where they have toured USA, UK and Europe. Whilst the recordings are still a solo affair still being created by himself in the studio.

In 2012, the debut album from Fay Hallam & The BongolianLost In Sound‘ was released on Blow Up Records. A collaboration between the two artists, with Nasser Recording,  performing and arranging alongside Fay Hallam who wrote the albums songs.



Keep up to date with latest Blow Up news