The Bongolian

The Bongolian

Cat. No: BU025
UK release date: 10/02/2020
Formats: CD, LP, DIGITAL
Status: Out Now
  1. Rollin’ With You
  2. Merve Plays Vibes
  3. Bongohead
  4. The Fatback Showdown
  5. Champagne And Pizza
  6. Dirt, Sweat & Bones
  7. Madman In Africa
  8. The Shackles Of Ramm
  9. Flight Through The Five Galaxies
  10. 16-Valve News Reel



The 2002 self-titled album debut from The Bongolian. A record box essential for any DJ which since its release has found a wide appeal from Dance and Hip-Hop to rare groove and funk and 60’s dancefloor fans. Containing the sort after 45 ‘Bongohead’ and other tracks which are still live favourites at The Bongolian live shows. Unavailable on LP for several years, but now back in stock by popular demand.

Nasser Bouzida AKA The Bongolian, is the main man from the group from another Blow Up artist Big Boss Man This is Nasser in his element, taking us on a musical journey of dirty bongo driven Funk and spaced-out Latin Soul.

The album was written, arranged, performed and produced entirely by Nasser at his home studio, where he recorded on analogue 8 track in down time from working with Big Boss Man. On hearing the recordings Paul Tunkin agreed to release the recordings on Blow Up and suggested The Bongolian as a name for the then untitled project. Tracks were subsequently mixed on a 1970’s Raindirk Desk and transferred to 24 track tape in Willesden by Nick Terry. The album was mastered by Simon Heyworth at Sanctuary. With Simon and Paul editing and sequencing the final mastered tracks into the finish release.



Keep up to date with latest Blow Up news