Baltic Fleet

Cat. No: BU068
UK release date: 07/02/2020
Status: Out Now
  1. Towers
  2. March Of The Saxons
  3. Headless Heroes of The Acropolis
  4. Engage
  5. The Wilds
  6. Winds of The 84 Winter
  7. Hunting Witches
  8. Toire De
  9. Midnight Train
  10. Reno


LP limited pressing only.


‘TOWERS’ is the second album from BALTIC FLEET and follows the 2008 self-titled debut which was an Album of the Year (No 29) for Rough Trade Shops who described it as “A faultless piece of instrumental music that captures the spirit of Eno, NEU! all the way through to modern post-rock and chamber music”.

BALTIC FLEET is the moniker of multi-instrumentalist and DIY producer Paul Fleming. The second record signifies a departure from the travelling and diarising of life on the road (whilst touring as keyboard player for Echo & The Bunnymen), and arrives home to the industrial backdrop of North West England. The album was written and recorded in a room overlooking the industrial landscape a stone’s throw from Spike Island, the scene of another Northern band’s finest hour.

The cinematic aspect is still apparent on this second offering but is more direct. Analogue synthesisers intertwined with distant guitars roll over a backdrop of live and electronic drums. Two years in the making, the record captures varied emotions. Towers tells a story of life in between the silos of Liverpool and Manchester but with a foot in both, a cultural no-man’s land, in the shadows of industry.

Towers: Written and Produced by Paul Fleming. Additional recording at Parr St Studio, Liverpool. Mixed by Nick Terry at Malabar Studios, Oslo.



Keep up to date with latest Blow Up news